We are not getting email from outside the company. I am guessing it's
the MX record. Called the company who has the domain name and the mx
record, they say it looks fine. I don't think it's a problem with
Exchange. We have internal email and can send to the outside world.
Any suggestions? THANKS!!!!
On Apr 14, 10:25 am, zoom1...@gmail.com wrote:
> We are not getting email from outside the company. I am guessing it's
> the MX record. Called the company who has the domain name and the mx
> record, they say it looks fine. I don't think it's a problem with
> Exchange. We have internal email and can send to the outside world.
> Any suggestions? THANKS!!!!
UPDATE....
Found a site that will test the connection with the mail server. Says
that "No connection could be made because the target machine actively
refused it".
Steve - 14 Apr 2008 18:18 GMT
Also try using dnsreport.com and see what it reports for your domain.
On Apr 14, 10:25 am, zoom1...@gmail.com wrote:
> We are not getting email from outside the company. I am guessing it's
> the MX record. Called the company who has the domain name and the mx
> record, they say it looks fine. I don't think it's a problem with
> Exchange. We have internal email and can send to the outside world.
> Any suggestions? THANKS!!!!
UPDATE....
Found a site that will test the connection with the mail server. Says
that "No connection could be made because the target machine actively
refused it".
Duncan McC - 15 Apr 2008 04:07 GMT
In article <c7bf8f37-dde6-4a92-9c04-
ebe1f6b02e8a@a22g2000hsc.googlegroups.com>, zoom1968@gmail.com says...
> On Apr 14, 10:25 am, zoom1...@gmail.com wrote:
> > We are not getting email from outside the company. I am guessing it's
[quoted text clipped - 8 lines]
> that "No connection could be made because the target machine actively
> refused it".
Typically that means it's not getting to your server.
Your A and MX records - what are they? Most importantly, what is your A
record that you've associated your MX with - and can you ping it (eg can
you ping mail.yourdomain.com - and is that *your* IP).? - or is it
(still) the ISP or hosts?

Signature
Duncan