Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion GroupsWindows Server 2003Windows 2000Windows NTSmall Business ServerVirtual ServerExchange ServerIISHost Integration ServerISA ServerSMSWSUSMOMWindows Media ServerSecurityCertification
Related Topics
SQL ServerMS WindowsMS OfficePC HardwareMore Topics ...

Windows Server Forum / Exchange Server / Setup / July 2008

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Help! Server not excepting email 550

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
James Ricciardi - 30 Jul 2008 04:29 GMT
Just finished moving all users from pop mail to exchange (2003) - my current
working MX records are going to domain1.biz and working. I have 3 other
domains which I set up aliases from our hosting provider to point to
domain1.biz - domain2.com alias point to domain1.biz I just changed the MX
record on domain2.com to go directly to my public IP and my exchange server
is rejecting it with 550 5.7.1 and now users @domain2.com can not get mail -
what am I missing!
Thanks
JR
Ed Crowley [MVP] - 30 Jul 2008 04:45 GMT
1.  domain2.com isn't in your recipient policy.
2.  The address you're sending to isn't on a recipient, i.e., no mailbox has
that address.

I might be able to give you a better answer had you posted the complete NDR.
Signature

Ed Crowley MVP
"There are seldom good technological solutions to behavioral problems."
.

> Just finished moving all users from pop mail to exchange (2003) - my
> current
[quoted text clipped - 8 lines]
> Thanks
> JR
James Ricciardi - 30 Jul 2008 04:56 GMT
First I added domain2.com to the default policy and received this-
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<jsurf@remaxcentralinc.com>:
72.44.135.105 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 5.7.1 Unable to relay for jsurf@remaxcentralinc.com
Giving up on 72.44.135.105.

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Return-Path: <jsurf44@verizon.net>
Received: (qmail 794 invoked from network); 30 Jul 2008 03:30:10 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO iMac44.home) (jsurf44@verizon.net@96.227.67.175
with plain)
by smtp103.vzn.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with SMTP; 30 Jul 2008 03:30:10 -0000
X-YMail-OSG:
hN2nuakVM1mibzAn8sQ7U6GyxTU7KZ9byUC5HEaDAPcRVCwLnX2jHSohEtSxuSZ5Bwc0tXTk3PJ4
zN2FpCwebRQyRGRRGr_7pIHiXlWonw--
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3
Message-Id: <51007FAC-DB91-4FEF-967D-3421870D8CA6@verizon.net>
From: James Ricciardi <jsurf44@verizon.net>
To: jsurf@remaxcentralinc.com
Content-Type: text/plain
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Apple Message framework v926)
Subject: test
Date: Tue, 29 Jul 2008 23:30:09 -0400
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.926)

Then I removed domain2.com from default and created a new policy and set
domain2.com as primary and now I get-
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<jsurf@camelotabstract.com>:
72.44.135.105 failed after I sent the message.
Remote host said: 550 5.7.1 Requested action not taken: message refused

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Return-Path: <jsurf44@verizon.net>
Received: (qmail 16162 invoked from network); 30 Jul 2008 03:50:31 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO iMac44.home) (jsurf44@verizon.net@96.227.67.175
with plain)
by smtp103.vzn.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with SMTP; 30 Jul 2008 03:50:31 -0000
X-YMail-OSG:
U5IQVU4VM1l7l.Uae.kiHz6sQJCRlbkv.QGHonXJNeIWo5LMT0qkDTlNCf.5uYtAwwqMHoeP1FTA
VgBvJHsB.1xuXkCmdjvFvBWjlGNMbw--
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3
Message-Id: <E9F09587-037D-45C5-8A02-4CC748D7EBDA@verizon.net>
From: James Ricciardi <jsurf44@verizon.net>
To: jsurf@camelotabstract.com
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Apple Message framework v926)
Subject: testing new policy
Date: Tue, 29 Jul 2008 23:50:31 -0400
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.926)

On 7/29/08 11:45 PM, in article eoO65af8IHA.3612@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl, "Ed
Crowley [MVP]" <curspice@nospam.net> wrote:

> 1.  domain2.com isn't in your recipient policy.
> 2.  The address you're sending to isn't on a recipient, i.e., no mailbox has
> that address.
>
> I might be able to give you a better answer had you posted the complete NDR.
samir shah - 31 Jul 2008 17:38 GMT
Hi James
You probably need virutal smtp server configured to except mails for other
domain names

Regards
Samir

> First I added domain2.com to the default policy and received this-
> Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
[quoted text clipped - 72 lines]
>> I might be able to give you a better answer had you posted the complete
>> NDR.
Leif Pedersen [ MVP] - 31 Jul 2008 18:33 GMT
Hi,

Most likely not the case.

Did you check that the users were stamped with the new addresses?

Is there some form of SMTP scanner in front of the exchange server that
might block the mails?

Leif
> Hi James
> You probably need virutal smtp server configured to except mails for other
[quoted text clipped - 80 lines]
>>> I might be able to give you a better answer had you posted the complete
>>> NDR.
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.